|Swimming Upstream|v2.0|

|Everything and Nothing|

It’s been a while

Before I start apologising for my lack of blog content, let me begin with saying, I don’t care. What I have realised from taking a relatively long blogging sabbatical is that, no one really misses you. So, after the initial whining faded, so did my interest and quite frankly, so did the guilt of not producing content.

So, if there are no apologies to be made and no one to make them to, then I’ll just carry on.

I have always been straight with you – straight with myself, actually – the point is, I have always tried to be as honest as possible and say what has been on my mind. Over the past few months – 10 of the them to be exact – I have desperately tried and attempted to reignite my passion in my blog, starting and never finishing blog posts along the way. All of them, funnily enough, have been saved as Drafts and in the spirit of transparency, I have decided to post  few significant ones. Even though all of them have been left unfinished in their infancy, it seems as though most all of them have been written while drunk or drinking…or both.

First Warning; This…is going to be a long and weird read.

So, what I’ve done is lay them out in chronological order over the past 10 months. Some of them are heavy. Some of them don’t make much sense and others I can’t even begin to understand what I was trying to say nor can I remember the point I was trying to make at the time. Imagine looking back on your life and not feeling any connection with a memory, person, photo or something you created. It’s a little scary, funny at times, but scary nevertheless.

Apparently I have been always been that blogger who enjoyed marinating in “Overshare” and this one is no different. I guess in a way, I’m trying to show you all that I tried…and this is a unique and rather oblique look into what I have been through this year;

| Warning |

| The passages under “Post” are completely unedited |

Initially entitled: They say things happen in 3’s

Drunk Rating: 

Post:

I’m back and unfortunately I’m a little writing drunk, which will  be explained later on int the blog post.

So, yourre probbanly wondering what I’ve bveen doing for the last 3 months, we’ll here’s 3 facts for your that you probably didn’t know:

1. I was working my ass off. (current tense)
2. A holiday (the first in 3 years)
3. I change jobs. (current tense)
4. I discovered a different side of me.
5. I was in a relationship (past tense)

The end of 2011 sounding the bell for what can only be called the war-sound. Every single man was called to the front line to take a bullet for the next and after “Sober October”, there was nothing more I loved doing that getting stuck in to work and celebrating the victory, one awesome achievement at a time. Firstly, I cross over the 1 year mark at my former employee with a breeze and feeling confident about the future continued to take on more responsibility before taking leave for December.

Yes, you read that correctly. This December I planned to take a “just-short-on-3-weeks” break over the December period. This would be my first time giving up one of my own brands to someone else while I was away. It was nerve-racking to say the least and I’ll confess, I check the communities once or twice or something like that during the December period – just to make sure everything was going alright. That’s all. What?

I’m not going to

Synopsis: Drinking and writing is not my forte.

I don’t really have anything to say on the above. It’s easy to see where I was going with the post and the fact that I never completed it lends itself to two things, I either couldn’t finish it or I passed out. Either way. Probably a blessing in disguise.

Initially entitled: Trebblile hatred of everything about you and you and you

Drunk Rating:

Post:

So i might be a little bit drunk as I write this post, apparently attempting to write drunk and edit sober is not working because the desire to edit posts fater i have written them in this state demininshes as soon as i reread the piust I have written. Feel like I’m going to be repeating myself a lot here.

here we go.

after juch diliberation and secodn thought i have decided to ease off on the gas for this post and simply say that, I am sick and tired of seeing, havign to deal witht he crap I see on a daily basis witht he industry I work in and the narcassitic people involved in making the industry turn, so to speak. I am not attacking anyone personally nor am i wanting to dingle out anyone – then again – anyone who feels as though this is directed at them are more than wel come comment below and we can have it out here or over a beer sometime, but isn’t it time we all started being real with one another?

When i refer to the word” real” – i’;m talking about how we are rprovifing value to the communities that are on a dailt baisi devouring the content we are producuing from some of the most influevetial brands in south africa. is has to come a time when we all need to take a hard look ay one anothetr  and decided who is showing true value to their clients in the indysrty and who is creating soemthing out of nothing. stats and ROi in social media is a much debated topic, but in soicuth aftrica it seems like the one topic everyone would rather whisper about than speak out in the open about. I say fck that. I say, let;s talk about it, if our brands are asking us to show value, why are we all shying away from the quertion.

i ususally dont blog about indystu stuff, but here i find myslef blogging abiuytb something that i think people are too scared to talk about, in forums, in groupos even in the teams i work in. I don’t think we are sking the rigbt qwuestions…i think the whole idea of social media is swtrong and needs to be reassessed before we all start making staples for an industrry that in my personal opinijn doesn’t truly exisit.

i want to keep wtiting about this byt

Synopsis: An industry post? Really, Dave?

This was a surprise for me when I found it lurking in my Drafts Folder. I usually don’t write industry related posts, but this one seemed to be making a point – somewhere – somehow – I think? I think it’s interesting to see the development of these feelings towards the industry to what I feel now. This was a starting point, so-to-speak.

Initially entitled: You haven’t a clue

Drunk Rating:

Post:

So this yeart has been rtesting to sya the least and i can t begin to tell you how much i have learnt about being by myslef aagain. Without tryig to sound self-laudatory, i think i have come far in building up with what seems to be me being on the right path to making ab ebtter life for myself

Synopsis: What the hell was I trying to say here?

I think this came from a time when I decided to tell everyone how great I was doing. As you can clearly see, I was in fine form and the words were really flowing. Sometimes I have no idea why I even try or right now, why I’m showing this stuff to you. Moving on swiftly.

Initially entitled: F*cken Bullsh*t

Drunk Rating:

Post:

Writing this over a large glass of Johnny Walker Blck is probably not the best idea I have ever done and looking through my drafts there are a bunch of posts that I have not yet finished, but at this point in time, I could care less.

So, here we go; it’s been month than a feew months since my last blog post and more has happened than I care to comment on. Not only out of respect, but out of the humility the last few months have decided to dish me – one begrudgingly has been served cold to me on many occasions. I don’t want to get into the why anymore than I want to get into the who, but life has dealt me what I can onlty consider a blow to the gut. Whe  you feel as though the things that mattered the most to you no longer do, it forcefully shoves you in the direction os reprioritization.  Notr actually sure that;s a word, but we’re going with it. What mean

Synopsis: I should not drink whisky and write.

It seems like I was onto something here, but without really saying anything I think I tried to say it all. Who knows?

Initially entitled: Personal news

Drunk Rating:

Post:

My father is sick and i don’t really know what to say about it all. There ar

Synopsis: An extremely personal and sad post that I’m somewhat glad I didn’t finish.

I’m not sure I’ll actually rewrite a blog post regarding the above issue. As it stands, it’s something I’m not entirely comfortable with sharing with the world right now. Even for someone who has been considered to over-share on more than the odd occasion.

Breaking away from the drunkenness for a bit, looking back on some of these posts – it seems like for the past couple of months all I have been doing it drinking and writing crap. Doesn’t exactly bode well for opinions, now does it? Well, to be honest with you, I have had a lot to drink about – there have been hard times, good times and great times, most of them accompanied by booze – in varying amounts.

What I’ve tried to do with this blog post is the following;

1. Tell you that it’s been a hard year
2. Tell you that it’s been a hurtful year
3. Tell you that it’s been a great year
4. Tell you that despite recommendations from friends, alcohol is not the answer – but then again, you already knew that.

I think it’s hilarious that I’m making my re-emergence into the blogging sphere with this, “directly after” Sober-October last year. Sorry, I think it’s funny, and if you know anything about me, I like to take the p*ss out of myself most the time for public and private amusement.

I’m pretty sure that most of you who read this are going to assume that I have a drinking problem, then again, who doesn’t? Right? Right…? Damn. Here’s a quick one; think about each and every time you have had one too many this year – right – got it? Good. Okay, now what I did was sit down in front of a laptop and write upon coming home after a night out or at a friend’s house (PS: I have not drunk and driven this year). Not exactly the most productive thing one can do with their drunken state, but it felt right at the time. I have always tried to be as honest as possible with my writing and this is no different.

In short, I’m back. Probably not as often as I used to be, but I’m back to write about whatever I think it worthwhile.

Till next time.

11 comments on “It’s been a while

  1. Ingrid
    November 28, 2012

    This was hilarious. You’re a good writer.

    • Dave
      December 4, 2012

      Ha…thanks, Ings.

      You rock!

  2. Miss Red
    September 27, 2012

    love it!!! send me updates xxx

  3. zanedickens
    September 11, 2012

    Can’t say I’ve done enough drunk blogging, it may be something i need to work on…

    Great honest post.

    Welcome back mate!

    • Dave
      September 12, 2012

      Yo Zane,

      Long time, man! F3eel like I haven’t touched base with you in forever!

      How’s the Beachbum Billionaire quest coming on? Any closer to that dream?

      Thanks for the comment, bru!

      Till next time, man!

  4. kepeena
    September 10, 2012

    Feel like I should take you out for an Alabama Slammer. Or two. In Potch.

    • Dave
      September 12, 2012

      Corli, thanks cooks!

      I’ll take you up on that, Slammer!

  5. mebelee
    September 10, 2012

    Good for you Dave! I too am a victim of the “Write Drunk, Edit sober, have far too many drafts” syndrome. It’s refreshing to see honesty again. And remember, Loud and Proud is not only for the days of Pride, rainbows and Skittles- we all have a right to say what the hell we want!

    • Dave
      September 12, 2012

      Lee, thank you so much, luv!

      That means the world to me!

      Cheers!x

  6. shebee
    September 10, 2012

    I love this. It’s the perfect comeback for you.

    Looking forward to reading again x

    • Dave
      September 12, 2012

      Hey Sheenz,

      Thanks for the comment, luv! Appreciate the welcome back!

      x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2012 by in David Alves and tagged , , , , , .
