|Swimming Upstream|v2.0|

|Everything and Nothing|

Project 10.

Instead of going into too much detail about what this is and more specifically how I’m going to go about this, I’ve decided that I’m going to keep you up to date with the progress of this project instead of divulge what I’ve got in store for myself for this year.

So, getting straight into it. “Project 10” is my 2011 New Years Resolution and it’s going to be a tough one.

I’m going to lose 10kgs in 2011.

Nom Nom Nom!

Yes Dave...well done!

First, let me give you a little into why this 1) is going to be a challenge of note 2) why I’ve decided to do it and 3) why I’ve chosen this above all else. Firstly, I love food…no, you don’t understand. I love it with every molecule in my body.

Mmmm...gewwwd!

Wow...I'm hungry now.

If there is one thing that I’m not afraid to spend money on, it’s food. From Thai to Indian, fast food to pizza, ice cream to fruit…I love it all and even though I eat everything, I do not follow a balanced diet at all. I basically eat whatever I want, whenever I want it…which unfortunately lands up being the bad stuff, all the time. Another reason why this is going to be harder than I’m superficially believing is because I still smoke and drink and unfortunately what I have planned for myself could be more easily achieved without those two little additions. Look, the drinking thing can go and I’m on track with that so far…I reckon I could go a good 6-10 months without drinking which will do wonders for the weight, but the smoking stays…I know…why not do it the opposite way around? Well, to be honest with you, I have no idea…I guess I’m hoping that the smoking will eventually dissipate as time goes on and I become more and more enveloped into the “body transformation” I have planned for myself.

Why? Well, I’m unhappy…I know, a guy who’s insecure with the way he looks? Shock horror. Moving on. I came out of school (9 years ago) and weighed a whopping 91kgs…yeah, I was a big kid, not a fatty, I’d strategically stored my weight where it mattered as I played highly competitive sport at school and it was good to feel secure while running around and mashing kiddies into the ground. At the end of my first year I was at a frumpy 90kgs simply because I didn’t have much time to do anything else but work. I had had enough and that December I decided to get drastic. Upon going away with my family to the coast, I ran, skipped and worked out using nothing but the floor for press ups and the bedside table for sit ups every day as well as living on nothing but chicken breasts and a bowl of Coco Pops in the morning. The high sugar was burnt via the rigorous cardio I was doing and the high protein intake ensured that I maintained a steady muscle mass…or so I thought. After 42 and a bit days (got to love varsity holidays…), I had dropped 16kgs…yes…sixteen. Extreme? Severely. I was weak, constantly drowsy and my hair had begun to thin – I knew what I was doing was unhealthy but I didn’t care.

"That's a big Twinkie...!"

I was at the weight I wanted to be at and I felt amazing…emotionally. Physically, not so much.

Since then I’ve been able to maintain or at least keep it under wraps for the last 8 years by periodically starving myself, participating in extended bouts of ridiculously wild sex and the odd sporting activity here and there. But it’s back – the frump – I can feel it and I don’t like it…just this time, I want to do it right.

I currently weigh in at 86kgs (I’m 5′ 10″) so I’m a relatively solid (frumpy in my opinion) guy…

Nice!

I bet you do, you fat bastard!

I want to be between 70 and 75kgs by the end of November 2011…

That is my goal.

This is my struggle.

This is my pain and this will be where I will try to share it all.

Including pictures…and no, I will not be…”klapping gym boet”, so don’t get any ideas.

24 comments on “Project 10.

  1. Rubyletters
    January 11, 2011

    Good luck! We’ll support you as far as we can…and when we’re all going out together i’m even willing to not drink and eat healthy stuffs with you if it’ll help:)

    • Dave
      January 11, 2011

      Thanks Letty! Really appreciate the support luv!

  2. Matt Visser
    January 10, 2011

    haha! Dave you make me lag man, I reckon once you get into it you’ll dig it and then it becomes easier anyway. I love fitness and although I’ve got commitment issues with regards to which ones I stick with (I just watched my flat mate walk out the door to go to rugby practice which I’m supposed to be going to as well), the one thing that remains the same is that you start to get a kick out of being able to do it well, whatever ‘it’ is that you use to stay active. Consistency is key and the way you just opened up to everyone, further motivation to do it right shouldn’t be required.

    I was always just reading, but now I’m watching Dave.. .. 😉

    • Dave
      January 10, 2011

      You stalking s.o.b!!!

      Thanks for the comments buddy an thank you for the rocking advice. I too have a problem with committing so instead of over committing to something like gym or swimming, I’m going to expose myself to a varied amount of different exercises this year and hopefully the different modes of activity will spark one of them off to finally stick with going into the future.

      Thanks and thank you stopping by again man, your words are always a major source of inspiration and boners.

  3. dori73sa
    January 6, 2011

    SO with you… I need to do it before winter though, else the hot chocolate monster will get me!
    Forget gym, try BMF – britmilfit.co.za

    • Dave
      January 6, 2011

      Hmmm…I like training in the cold anyway so hopefully be fitter before the holiday and then train even harder. I’d like to detox for two months and get into a better eating habit first before pushy hard with the the exercise.

      But, like all thing, we’ll see I guess.

      Thanks for the comments Dori!

  4. dori73sa
    January 6, 2011

    I’m SO with you on this too – and I also tend to go overboard (I lost 19 kgs in 5 months a few years ago… but not with a good lasting method).

    Gym is crap – I do BMF – check it out and maybe join us? (Not sure where you’re based?)
    http://www.britmilfit.co.za

  5. lexamantis
    January 5, 2011

    Well, now I’m supposed to say good luck too, right? So here it goes. My 2 cents: Be careful not to let this goal to consume your life. That being said, have fun with it – healthy doesnt have to be boring. Like I’d know – different time and galaxy far far past 🙂

    Seriously though, Good Luck. Keep us updated 🙂

  6. Martijn Vreugde
    January 5, 2011

    Congrats at the resolution man, I need to train more this year too, trying to focus on the cardio side which I hate due to the boredom it inspires, I mean seriously running in one spot for 20 minutes who has the patience to do that?? But Boxing training is apparently a great cardio workout so here I come, may the bags feel my wrath. That no drinking thing for “6-10 months” is a bit too ambitious for me though. If you need a gym buddy to keep you honest I’m training at Rosebank Planet Fitness on week days.

    • Dave
      January 5, 2011

      Marty, that’s rocking stuff man! Glad to hear I’ve got someone who will be feeling the pain with me this year!

      Might take you up on the gym buddy offer, will let you know for sure when though. I’m not big into the “klapping gym boet” vibe…my body works differently and working out using machines doesn’t really suit my body type, but if I decide to “klap it”, you’ll be the first to know man!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • Martijn Vreugde
        January 5, 2011

        HAHA I had to look up “klapping gym boet” to find out what the hell that was. No bro, relax I’m not aiming to not be able to touch my own shoulders either. I just going for fit a and lean, ‘Atheletic’ body type. Not the I’ve hidden melons in my shirt type look

      • Dave
        January 5, 2011

        Agreed.

        “Klap it boet…klap it!!!”

        Hahaha!

  7. Pingback: Tweets that mention Project 10. | |Swimming Upstream|v2.0| -- Topsy.com

  8. Zane Dickens
    January 5, 2011

    Hey bud – I’ll be there with you, I have a very similar goal to accomplish. I’m ranging between 86 – 91 at the moment so going to push to get down to sub 80 and then use strength training to increase above that slowly.

    I don’t know what you intend doing but I’m hitting the Slow Carb diet, from Tim Ferris, if you get a chance check out the post and also have a look out for the 4 Hour Body, some pretty insane stuff in there. I’ll keep you posted with my progress if you want a fellow sufferer in Fat Camp.

    Good luck mate!

    • Dave
      January 5, 2011

      Fat Camp…jesus…thank Zane!

      Wouldn’t mind a motivation buddy on this trip and I say trip because this is going to be one hell of a ride…actually kaking myself for this because I know there are two factors that encompass me as a person: 1) When I put my mind to something I usually go over board and 2) My low self esteem manages to get the best of me at the worst of times and I expect to see more worse than good over this year.

      Thanks for the kudos and the motivation buddy…stop being so scarce yeah?!

      Sweet boners.

      • Zane Dickens
        January 5, 2011

        Lol I’m back online > took a 3 week blackout this December, managed to only check my email twice the whole time.

      • Dave
        January 5, 2011

        Wow!

        That is commendable buddy…I salute and bow down to the master of the freeze period!

        Wish I could have done the same, unfortunately I was on standby for the December period and practically worked everyday…weekends too…and New Years with a monster hangover boner…was good, was great, was…errrm…okay…

  9. Lil-T
    January 5, 2011

    Good luck! It’s very hard, but once you have managed to change your eating habits, you will be on the right course 🙂 Not saying you can’t have the take-away every now and again, but when you do, try opt for the healthier version…Try cooking more things at home. No frying! Bake most things…

    Well done on the cutting down of drinking too…something I need to work on. But there are other ways, like supplementing whisky over beer…

    Lucky for me, I work for a supplement and vitamin company – they keep me on the right track. Woohoo!

    • Dave
      January 5, 2011

      Wow!

      Thank you so much Tazzie! Your support is really appreciated babe!

      Will be keeping y’all up to date on everything…my body is screaming at me already: “WTF are you doing you frumpy little b*tch!?!?!”

      *sigh*

  10. cherylann
    January 5, 2011

    Awesomenessnizz! Anything you want to achieve you can, and it seems like you’ve got your game plan! I’m on a 10km run mission, so your journey will definitely encourage mine!! You can doooo iiiiiiit!

    • Dave
      January 5, 2011

      Hey Cher, Thanks hunny!

      I wish you luck too…would like to do one better and be able to do a 25km by the end of the year…*gulp*…I know, right?

      What have I gotten myself into…?!

  11. T
    January 5, 2011

    You’ve got a thousand people on twitter supporting you all the way honey 😉

    Just don’t get too obsessed, it’s a dangerous place :/

    • Dave
      January 5, 2011

      Hey luv,

      Thanks for the kudos! Really appreciate it…I’m going to be careful this time. Want to do it right!

      Thank you! *waves boner at Tara*

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 5, 2011 by in Blogging, David Alves and tagged , , , , .
