|Swimming Upstream|v2.0|

|Everything and Nothing|

Nine hundred rand.

This weekend a group of mates and I decided to go and paint the town different shades of vomit (aka: drink until you cannot stand) and before the night had even begun I was faced with a moral dilemma of note. First, it was my friend who was upon favourably by the ATM gods and then is was my turn. The ATM in use was my local and personal bank and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to work out which one I’m referring to.

Stop…Hammer Time!

My friend selected the R500 withdrawal button and landed up waiting 5-6mins while the ATM made more noise than Jenna Jameson during one of her best sessions. Yes…I went there. Back to the issue at hand, so after the allotted time the ATM eventually spat out an additional R300 for my friend. Feeling like he had been taken for a ride harder than…errm…Jenna Jameson, he checked his balance only to discover that only his original request of R500 had been withdrawn from his accounts. I know, right? Gold mine of note…

So we did what any curious 20 something year old would do, we tried again only this time, it was me ready for a…errm…Jenna Jameson session. I inserted my card into the Ass To Mouth  receptor, selected the R1000 option – because I’m charitable like that – and after the same allotted time that my friend’s wait took, the ATM spat out an additional R900…it’s ridiculous, I know, but totally factual. After checking my balance and also discovering that only the selected amount was withdrawn from my account, I gave the air a little fist pump. We stepped away from the Ass To Mouth contraption and walked away feeling like winners, as though we had managed to beat the banking system and all its rules and regulations without doing anything illegal…I’m not going to lie, it felt good and I preceded to treat my friends to round after round of tasty beverages. What? It was the “right” thing to do…or so I thought.

You damn right it is…

The next thing I knew, we were being dragged from the nightclub by 6 heavily armed government officials…kidding. We got smashed and had a rocking night regardless of the Ass To Mouth interaction. The next day though, heavily laden with hangover drapery, I allowed myself to reflect on the machine’s misfortune and began to grow what they call in the human world, a conscience.

I know, it’s shocking! The development of a conscience I mean. C’mon people! Regardless, it has played on my mind, and not just played the tambourine, but bashed the conga’s on my mind over the last 48hrs. So, where does this leave me…well, the way I see it, with only one option…

…to give it back.

Yes, I said that sh*t…I’m going to put R900 in an envelope and give it back to the bank in question. I’ve considered the alternatives, giving it to a charity, but sometimes I’m skeptical about where that money, especially small donations land up. I’ve considered giving it to a random guy on the street but I don’t have to tell you all the “stereotypes” that come to mind when considering giving a homeless person money…exactly. I thought about giving it to a friend who really needs it but I’ve kind of nailed that down to passing the buck and I’m not prepared to do that. So, in the end, it feels like the right thing to do and I’ve made up my mind about the whole thing and will not be influenced otherwise.

Think me small, think me big. Think me honest, think me soft…whatever your opinion of me, think it through and put yourself in my shoes before you act in your next Jenna Jameson movie appearance.

9 comments on “Nine hundred rand.

  1. Rubyletters
    January 11, 2011

    Wow! i haven’t been reading many of my regular blogs in a while, so i’m doing a little bit of a catching up here:)
    I’m proud of you hun, i really am. I have a lot of respect for someone who is honest. I dunno if the bank took it or told you to keep your money….to be honest, it doesn’t matter. The fact is you tried to give it back because it wasn’t yours to begin with. #Respect and lots of it!

    • Dave
      January 11, 2011

      I am doing a follow up on this Letty and will let everyone know what has actually happened after turning in the money. Honestly, I think the cashier and the manager split it down the middle and called it a day…yes…I did hand it in, gave over my contact details and that was that. Haven’t been contacted since…*shrugs*

      Thanks for the comments Letty!

  2. Portia Huenink
    January 8, 2011

    Thanks for this post. I have to agree with what you are saying. I have been talking about this subject a lot lately with my father so may perhaps this will get him to see my point of view. Fingers crossed!

  3. lexamantis
    January 3, 2011

    So what did the bank say when you gave it back?

    • Dave
      January 3, 2011

      They laughed at me from behind the counter…

      I know, right? Doing a follow up to this blog, some very personal stuff.

  4. Matt Visser
    December 21, 2010

    Agree with Wayne, consider it the universe telling you pay way too much in bank charges and smile graciously before planning another night out to paint the town..ya, you get it.

    Trust me, if the machine gave out less money, but the original requested amount was still deducted, you wouldn’t get them rushing to sort you out. Banks aren’t human and they’ve made almost as much money off of us as the tax man..

    • Dave
      December 21, 2010

      I do see your angel Matty, I really do and I can guarantee you that on any other day or any other time of the year I would be pocketing the bastard and be going on my merry way but the truth of the matter is that I can’t…I just can’t, it feels wrong and everything has been going really well for me lately and the last thing I want to be doing is messing with it…not saying I’m superstitious, but that’s the truth.

      I’d like to be honest about it and I’ve mind up my mind…regardless of how much I agree with you and want to keep it.

  5. Wayne
    December 21, 2010

    Consider it a refund for all the excess banking charges they’ve fleeced from you.

    • Dave
      December 21, 2010

      Trust me, I considered that…I really did.

      But it juts doesn’t feel right and it needs to be returned…thanks for pouring the sweet syrup of thievery into my ear though…relax, I’m kidding.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2010 by in Blogging, David Alves, Johanneburg and tagged , , .
