|Swimming Upstream|v2.0|

|Everything and Nothing|

Gentlemen, start your mo’s!

Yes, it’s that time of the year – again – and yes, I’m giving it a full go this time.

What I’m doing differently this year though is that I have decided to run a little internal competition and initiative at my place of work, Aqua Online. This year, instead of simply growing the mo’, I’m driving for a collection around the office – nothing huge, a little collection that I hope the Aquanauts will give generously towards! Last night I spent most of the midnight hours piercing tomato soup cans with a steak knife, splattering tomato soup into my eyes, which I can testify to being a burning sensation similar to being poked in the eye by a chili-peeling-Mexican-chef – not cool. I measured, designed and finally put together what I thought were a set of 3 mighty fine collection cans…check e’m out:

The cans of goodness!

Now, I’m hoping that they have enough sentimental and aesthetic appeal to make the grade here at Aqua and enthuse everyone to the point that they’ll give their life savings away – no, not really, but at least instead of buying another box of cigarettes (which Aquanauts are prone to purchasing on a daily basis) I hope they’ll slide a few coins into the can!

I have decided that instead of a smaller charity, we’re going for the biggie: CANSA (The Cancer Association of South Africa).  I’ve decided that at the end of the month we’ll collect the donations and make an uber lump some donation to the organization…Aqua-Goodness-Reigns-Supreme.

So, as the post title implies…start your mo’s and let’s have an epic Movember!

7 comments on “Gentlemen, start your mo’s!

  1. Matt Visser
    November 8, 2010

    I find the worse your Mo looks, the more good you can do for the cause.
    The harder it is for someone to not ask you what the hell is going with your face, the more awareness the cause stands to gain.

    I’m living prove, I look a pedo officer from the 70s..

    Nice post Dave, love the way you take these types of causes and ran with them!

    • Dave
      November 8, 2010

      Matty Visser, thank you so much for coming by and commenting buddy!

      Always appreciate your input on anything really!

      Well, it ain’t about how it looks, if I was worried about what it looked like I would grow a Mo for the year, but I’m focusing on the end goal and that is raising a reasonable amount of money from the Aquanauts and donating it to the best kind of cause. Concentrating on the end goal also helps me forget about what a creepy-physical-education-teach I look like…*shivers*

      Thanks again for the comment bud!

  2. Rubyletters
    November 2, 2010

    Good luck with the mo:) Hope you manage to raise quite a bit…especially since it’s for a good cause:)

    • Dave
      November 2, 2010

      Thanks Letty, appreciate the support hun!

      Thanks for the comment!

  3. Zane Dickens
    November 1, 2010

    …Mo-Bro?

    • Dave
      November 1, 2010

      Thanks buddy!

      Sorry you aren’t joining us! I thought the likes of Mr.Dickens would be brilliantly apt to make a Movember charge!

      Next time then, yeah?

      “A solid push…”…you’re a sick man Dickens, a sick man, but I luff you!

  4. Zane Dickens
    November 1, 2010

    I’m going to take part this year, well as long as I can get away with it. I must say I am genetically challenged in this department but a fussy show of spirit is something at least.

    Good on you for thinking of mens prostrates so considerately. And making a solid push to …. ah stuff the jibes

    Nice one. Keep it up. Mo-fo.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 1, 2010 by in Blogging, David Alves, Social Media and tagged , , , , , , .
